Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for March 23rd, 2009

A few months back, I downloaded Tweetdeck on my home laptop and I had yet to tweak it for the productivity gains that it might provide. Today I took the first step, setting up the following features below for my use.

  • Groups – Where can you make a group for Twitter? Tweetdeck. Examine why you use Twitter and what are the kinds of folks you are following. How would you aggregate them into top groups? In sum, overall the folks I follow may be these: librarians, social media users, entrepreneurs, web geeks, marketers, business leaders, people I know personally in real life, healthcare news and advocates, nurses, physicians, and others that just bring a bite of humor to my busy life. Given that, I created these groups: Social Media (top social media tweeters I like); Twitter (tools and tweets on using Twitter, may have overlap with SM category); Librarians (including libraryland stuff); Work Related; and Fun and Entertainment (my personal miscellany).  The limitation: You can only have 10 groups. Try to create another one, the following message is delivered, “you are already using 10 columns, you could delete one and try again.” Also, there are only so many friends you might see available as adds to your group, see this post on why that is the case.
  • Frequency – I reorganized the columns so the ones I want to see the most are at the left, less scroll. I set up a time limit filter for the last 24 hours for each column – see great details on this here, question #16. I’m trying to just use Twitter when I can – I get the updates I can get, when I get them, other updates I just miss, such is life.

It’s a start…

Read Full Post »